Want a job? Get yourself a professional social media profile


We’ve blogged before about the importance of social networking for kicking off (and building) your publishing career. But just in case you’re still not convinced, I’ve recently found some even more compelling evidence. Check out the sobering stats in my recent blogpost for AccountingCPD – and then ignore your online profile if you dare…

The good news is that, to mark the launch of my online peer-enriched learning course Social Media for Professionals, my lovely publisher (Nelson Croom) is giving one Kingston MA student the opportunity to take the course for free. To be in with a chance of winning, just leave a comment on this blogpost describing why you think social networking is important to your personal career – in less than 200 words. The most persuasive comment received before 30th June wins (as judged by me).

6 responses to “Want a job? Get yourself a professional social media profile

  1. It’s becoming more and more apparent to me that we no longer exist solely physically. We also exist in cyberspace, a digital imprint of ourselves is there shockingly for the world to see (ever Googled yourself? Luckily I am hidden pages in by a Welsh gymnast of the same name. I promise, that’s not me!). Things we typed when we were fifteen and angry are still there, those embarrassing photographs and confessional blog entries can be found with a bit of clever snooping. It’s so easy for a potential employer to type in your name and find your vulnerable digital self. This is why I am interested in building a substantial and impressive social media profile. I want employers to see that I am engaging in relevant content intelligently, that I have interesting opinions and that I know how to handle myself in this digital arena. I’m currently searching for a job and find that an understanding of digital media is often in the job description. I would be very interested in learning more about building my digital presence as I believe that the physical self and the digital self is now intrinsically linked across both social and professional platforms.

  2. Thanks, Frankie, some interesting thoughts. Your mature and forward-thinking attitude stands you in good stead for developing a professional image (in both the physical and digital worlds).

    Aside from our ‘vulnerable digital self’, many of us actually have several different cyberspace versions of ourselves out there – so employers could also be easily confused about who or what we really are.

  3. That’s very true. I think it’s difficult keeping your social self apart from the professional online. Whereas we can physically separate home and work life when it comes to our digital self it really does depend on the platform and employers can, if we’re not careful with privacy settings, view both quite easily.

  4. As you have found in some of the essays you have marked Anna, establishing a social networking profile has become somewhat of a marketing panacea – it is as if merely by uttering the words that you are the proud owner of a profile and a blog, and that you tweet louder than an overly-territorial robin, somehow your business, your status or your mere presence is somehow miraculously boosted.
    Like Frankie I have a problem with my name, in that I share it with someone very, very famous, who runs one of the most successful football clubs on earth and who is in the news daily…
    What I feel I would benefit from as I enter the precarious world of self employment (and by definition self promotion) is gaining a knowledge of how to use the social networking tools available to create a MEANINGFUL following and MEANINGFUL contacts who will help me forge a MEANINGFUL income.
    With this in mind I have deliberately abstained from creating a professional (as opposed to carefully guarded social) online presence until such time as I have had a clear idea of what it is I want to achieve.
    The last thing I have wanted to do within the confines of the elephantine memory of cyberspace is for hasty, exploratory digital fumblings of the past to come back to trip me up later…
    So for me the time is now…and any training I can get will be gratefully received.
    PS I didn’t count the words.

  5. Thanks, Peter. Of course, by leaving a comment here you have made your first foray into creating a professional social media profile…

    As regards your search for MEANING, social networking is no different from ordinary networking in the sense that you don’t necessarily know who will be interested in you, or whether the person you have just met might develop into a fruitful future contact. So some of the non-technical approaches are similar. Seth Godin speaks well (and in a nutshell) about the general principles of networking here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OujgPgNCLvk

  6. Pingback: Five top tips to get your first job in publishing | Kingston Publishing: inspiring future publishers·

Leave a Reply

