Keep busy and carry on: job hunting advice from Kingston graduate


An article by Kingston MA Publishing and Creative Writing graduate Claire Rogers is published by the Independent this week. It acknowledges the potential lows of post-graduation job hunting and encourages people to keep busy and carry on.

Claire emphasises the benefits of gaining work experience and the impact networking can have on that difficult first-job search. She cites the experience of another of our graduates, who joined the Society of Young Publishers in an effort to extend her professional network:

“I wasn’t sure what would happen as I went to my first networking event but everyone turned out to be very friendly… When I got over my initial fears, I had met some very interesting people, to whom I spoke extensively about the different paths I could use to enter the publishing industry. Some of them even encouraged me to send them my CV for potential work experience opportunities.”

Read the full article at the Independent or check out some tips on getting your first job in publishing from the Society of Young Publishers Chair, Andrew Turner (yet another Kingston MA Publishing graduate…).

One response to “Keep busy and carry on: job hunting advice from Kingston graduate

  1. Pingback: Breaking into the publishing industry: standing out in a crowded room | Kingston Publishing: inspiring future publishers·

Leave a Reply

